Is it legal to mark your ball when it’s not on the green? Rules Guy

two golf balls side by side on the green

What do the rules say about marking the ball when it is not on the green?

Getty Images

The rules of golf are difficult! Fortunately, we have a guru. Our The Rules Guy knows the book from beginning to end. Have a question? He has all the answers.

On my approach shot, I was about five feet short of the green, and the grass was short enough that I decided to putt. Problem: My buddy also ended up three feet in front of my ball, directly in my putting line. I asked him to mark his ball. He refused, saying that you weren’t allowed to mark the ball anywhere but the green. I asked him to play first. He refused again, citing the allegations rules he dictated that the next ball should be played first, admitting at the same time that he didn’t want to give me a reading. I ended up smashing his ball. But was he right about the labeling? – Name and surname withheld, sent by e-mail

Please allow me to introduce you and your rather unsympathetic buddy (perhaps a lawyer?) to Rule 15.3b, which states that if the ball interferes with play, you have the right to pick it up anywhere on the golf course.

After making this request, the second player is obliged to pick up the ball; in Stroke Play he has the option to play first instead of lifting. However, he cannot invoke the fifth.

For more ball marking tips from our guru, read on…


LPGA golfer Jennifer Kupcho throws the ball to her caddy on the second green on June 17, 2022, during the Meijer LPGA Classic For Simply Give at Blythefield Country Club in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Rules Guy: Once you mark the ball, can you ask your caddy to replace it?

By:

Rules, man



My teammate marked his ball and picked it up. He then put the ball down and putt without lifting the marker. I told him his ball was not in play because he had left his marker in place and had therefore hit the wrong ball – he had to replace it, incurring a two-stroke penalty. He said I was full of bullshit. Is the ball in play if you don’t pick up the marker? – Robert Tarbox, via email

Really, Robert, a rules guy can’t stand bullshit, and unfortunately you both have had enough of it.

Placing or removing a ball marker has nothing to do with whether the ball is in or out of play. Bupkis.

In fact, just picking up or putting down the ball changes its status. That said, Rule 14.1 prohibits playing the ball without first removing the ball marker, which is an infringement for which your teammate deserved one penalty stroke (not two), even if it was not a foul ball.

He needs to change his ways and you need to eat some crow.

Need help tidying up the greenery on your home golf course? Choose custom Green Book from Golf Logix.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Verified by MonsterInsights